Design Our Pin Competition Winner

The Anguilla Commonwealth Games Association (ACGA) Design Our Pin Competition finally came to a close on Thursday, 5 December 2013, when the judging was carried out by the Board Members, and proved to be very difficult because there were so many good entries.


The competition was launched on Friday, 20 September 2013, and due to request, was extended to 8 November 2013.


All the schools were sent instructions about the competition, and consent forms, to be given to all children interested in taking part in the competition.   Children between the ages of 5 – 17 were eligible to participate in the competition.


A total of 18 entries were received from the following schools, the Albena Lake-Hodge Comprehensive School, Central Christian School, Adrian T Hazell Primary School, Vivian Vanterpool Primary School and Orealia Kelly Primary School. 


The initial instructions on how the competition was going to be judged was changed slightly, i.e. the best entry from Campus A/WISE, the best entry from Campus B and the best entry from the primary schools were to be chosen, but because there was not an entry from the Campus B School, we decided to award two prizes to the primary schools instead.


Carmel Gumbs from the Albena Lake-Hodge Comprehensive School was declared the winner, and won a $100US gift voucher to be spent at Tackle Box. 


Carmel Gumbs Pin Design

The two runners up, who will each receive a $50US gift voucher to be spent at Tackle Box were, Aaron Campbell from the Central Christian School with his design of a shield and Trenai Hamilton from the Orealia Kelly Primary School with his design of a boat.   

         Aaron Campbell Pin DesignTrenai Hamilton Pin Design                                 

Although Carmel’s design will need a few changes, we congratulate him on a great design, and ask that he keep in touch with the ACGA, through our social media outlets, to see the final results of his pin design, which will be used as the official pin for Team Anguilla Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.


We will be awarding the prizes on Saturday evening, 14 December 2013, at the ACGA Office, where we will be holding a farewell party for the Capacity Support Officer from Canada, Aimee Maggiacomo, who has been with us for almost a year, and will be returning home on the 17 December 2013.