History made on the 19 Annual John T Memorial Cycling Race held in Anguilla

The 2018 John T. Memorial Cycling Race was held on Sunday, July 15, 2018. This race is held annually in the memory of cycling pioneer, the Late John Thomas.


Founded in 2000, John T. Memorial Cycling Race is in the 19th year and has never been won by an Anguillian. However, on Sunday young talented and dedicated Anguillian Cyclist, 21 year old Hasani Hennis made history and became the first Anguillian cyclist to secure this title, when he captured the 2018 title completing the 137km race in 3:46:59:44, shaving a near 10 minutes off the 2017 winning time of Hillard Cintje. He was 8:11:63 ahead of the second place, Mickael Clarico of St. Maarten. Robert Marsh of Antigua (2006 Winner) was in 3rd, Russell Elcock of Barbados in 4th and Anguillian Danny Laud in 5th. This year’s race saw three past winners of the event participating: Serge Nipay the very first winner in 2000, Robert Marsh who won in 2006 and Jyme Bridges who won twice, in 2015 and 2016.


Hasani also captured the prizes that were up for grabs for the Anguillian Elite riders. These prizes were instilled to motivate our local riders and were given for the first to climb the Sandy Ground Hill on the first lap, first to climb Sandy Ground Hill on the second lap and the first Anguillian to finish.


In the Juniors Category, Rene Gayral of Antigua secured first place, Yehudi Destouche of St. Matin secured 2nd and David Simmons of Antigua was 3rd.


Our Cadet category was quite entertaining with Adil Salouane leading majority of the race until he suffered a mechanical problem and the end with a nail biting sprint between Kohath Baron of Dominica and Quami Robinson of St. Lucia. Kohath edged out Quami with 0.09 of a second, leaving Quami to settle for 2nd. Vernon Hill of St. Martin secured 3rd and Anguillian Cailan Fleming came in 4th.


Masters Category saw Mark Maidwell of St. Maarten victorious, Junior Niles in 2nd place and Sedwin Jones of Barbados in 3rd place.


Our female category was captured by Susy Piscione of St. Maarten and Anne Blaum in 2nd place.


The future of cycling, our young cyclists between the ages of 4-14 years entertained the spectators as they competed in various categories.


Without the support of our many sponsors, the 2018 John T. Memorial Cycling Race would have never been possible and we wish to express huge gratitude to:


Government of Anguilla, Lloyds Aviation, Anguilla Tourist Board, Department of Sports, Flow, DLG Engineering, Leviticus, Hon. Curtis Richardson, CuisinArt Golf Resort & Spa, Sheriff Security, Morlens Architecture, Inches Trucking, Superior Industrial Supplies, JTR Security, Four Seasons Resort, Dungeon Gym, Anguilla Development Board, Junie Fleming, Arian Freight, Tropical Treats, Triple K Car Rental, Best Buy Supermarket, Iwas, Syd & Petes Supermarket, Kels Candy & Ice cream, Blookie & Nicky V Ferry, Social Security, Vaughn Hazell, Upbeat Radio 97.7fm, Lloyds Car Rental, Tropical Distributors, Lloyd Gumbs, English Rose, Green Cuisine, Josveek Huligar, Eye 2 Eye Sound, E’s Oven, Calypso Charters, Waste Tech, Early Morning Riders, Trisport SXM, General Post Office and Safe Cargo.


Special thanks is extended to Sergeant Shem McDowall and the members of the Royal Anguilla Police Force and also to the following persons for their support.

  •  Patricia Hodge
  •  Patrick Niles
  •  Miguel Leverette
  •  Lawrence Ruan
  •  Angele Richardson
  •  Rollins Richardson & his team
  •  Kris Pradel
  •  Suzanna Proctor
  •  South Hill Community
  •  Jamari Bryan
  •  Andre Collins
  •  Angela Gumbs & her team
  •  Katrina Richardson
  •  John Jeffers
  •  Avery, Evan & Motorbike crew


For more information please visit www.facebook.com/AACA.Anguilla or call 264-584-0083.


The Anguilla Cycling Association will be forever grateful for your support.

Winner, Hasani Hennis representing Anguilla

Hasani on the podium. On your far right Danny Laud from Anguilla in fifth place